Skip to content


  1. Richard Amey - Worthing Herald
    30th November 2015 @ 1:05 pm

    Picking up on Andrew’s reaction to the insertion of a cello-&-piano-only work, my thoughts are these:
    On Sunday we also had a quartet, so we experienced three different instrumental combinations in one concert.
    Domus from the 1980s explored the idea of a major work delivered by the ensemble’s full forces in the second half, the way prepared by shorter, sometimes lighter works for smaller combinations in the first half. That was aimed at audiences new to chamber music as well as seasoned addicts.
    The Coffee Concert audience probably has the appetite for something – maybe two things – to get their teeth really into during a morning, so there is arguably sometimes room and programming scope for a smaller-combination work earlier on.
    The Cypresses quartets worked beautifully as a prelude to more substantial things to come. To have a second ‘non full-strength’ item takes a risk in which this Beethoven Sonata succeeded because it was a piece that was strong or meaty enough. In a programme seeking a similar balance with different works, that role or spot could have been filled with equivalent success by, say, Brahms’ 1st Cello Sonata. Something more flimsy could well leave the audience still hungry by the interval. Something the coffee bar could not assuage!


  2. John
    30th November 2015 @ 1:56 pm

    “Tom Poster … throughout played, not as an accompanist, but as an at least equal partner. It’s how, one sensed, Beethoven would have wanted it played.”

    Can you tell me, Andrew, what the piece is actually called? I don’t know but I guess it might be something like ‘sonata for keyboard with violoncello’…?

    PS thanks to you and Richard for great reviews as ever – It was a real pity to miss it (even though we were listening to Jack in the Grosser Saal of the Mozarteum…)

    • Andrew Polmear
      13th December 2015 @ 4:40 pm

      Thanks for the comment John. My edition (Peters) has it as “Sonaten fur pianoforte und Violoncell” which seems about right!


  3. David Botibol
    30th November 2015 @ 2:52 pm

    Here are some images of scores which put Pianoforte before Violoncell in the title.
    But much modern writing doesn’t seem to prioritise the piano in that way.

  4. Christine Moon
    30th November 2015 @ 3:51 pm

    Fascinating comments about the balance of the programme and the relative weight of the piano and cello in the Beethoven sonata. Less academically, it was just spectacular – all of it. We’ve had some tremendous Coffee Concerts – this one was up there at the very top – sublime artistry, exquisite programme.

    Christine (now in the Ariege)

Back to top